Julia Kalow receives Marion Milligan Mason award

Congratulations to Julia Kalow, recently named one of only 4 recipients of the 2021 Marion Milligan Mason award by the AAAS! The biennial award, which grants $55,000 each to four or five early-career female scientists conducting basic research in the chemical sciences, are funded from a $2.2 million bequest to AAAS in Mason’s will to both support women in chemistry and honor her own family’s commitment to women’s education. The award winners are selected through a two-stage review process. Research proposals are subjected to criteria that include the potential of their research to advance knowledge and understanding in their field and beyond and to benefit society.